Juicing

untitled-1-5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This weekend, Adam and I officially began juicing.

You know, with fruits and vegetables.

{This was not what Adam thought at first when I mentioned I wanted to start juicing. Sorry, performance enhancing drugs aren’t really my thing…}

Anyway…

It’s something I’ve been looking into the past month or so. We saw this juicer in the store and after talking it over, decided to go ahead with the purchase. So far, we love it! We tried out a few different recipes and have yet to be disappointed. I honestly never thought I would say I enjoy juice with cucumbers in it, but they have all been delicious. And completely healthy.

As of right now, we’re just planning on juicing in the morning and maybe before dinner at night. This won’t replace our vegetables and fruits we already eat, but will add to our intake. I recently heard the average American gets only 5% of their daily fruits and vegetables they need. Five percent!!! That makes me really sad and I am now striving to get my family to eat more of them.

Here are the different juices we’ve tried so far:

~3 oranges (peeled), 1 cucumber, and a handful of grapes

~1 cup blueberries, 1 cup raspberries, and 2 oranges (our favorite thus far)

~1 orange, 1/2 cucumber, 1 apple, and a large handful of grapes

untitled-1-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our reasons to juice

1. I like eating healthy and I want to set a good example for our girls.

2. Helps aide digestion, gives energy, boosts your immune system… all great things!

3. It’s quick and easy.

untitled-1-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our initial thoughts:

1. The juice is really smooth – no pulp whatsoever.

2. Tastes better than something you might get at Orange Julius and so much healthier!

3. We are excited to try so many different recipes!

I’ll update more in a few weeks on our juicing adventures. Since I’ve only been doing this for a couple days, I have a limited knowledge on all the juicing ideas there are out there. But for now, we are very happy with our purchase!

2 thoughts on “Juicing

  1. Why not just eat the fruits and vegetables? Juicing seems like it’d take the fiber out? The fiber helps keep your blood sugar levels more equalized. It slows the absorption of the carbohydrates into your bloom stream. Just sayin. Have with it though. 🙂

    • The amount of fruits and vegetables that go into even a cup of juice has a lot of packed nutrients that I probably would otherwise not eat. I don’t normally sit down and eat an entire cucumber, apple, orange, etc. in one sitting. With juicing, I can take ALL of that is just one drink. We have plans to use our spinach, lettuce, carrots, and other vegetables as well {along with eating our daily salad for dinner, fruit at lunch, etc}. Like I said, it’s not taking away from what we already consume, but adding to our intake. There are only positives to increasing our fruits and vegetables, in my mind!

Leave a Reply

