Living with a Purpose

Happy New Year!

I know I’m a bit late in saying it, but I’ve been on vacation for the past eight days and didn’t even take my computer with me! It was wonderful. We rang in the new year with just our family- both girls sound asleep in their beds and Adam and I barely staying awake long enough to give each other a New Year’s kiss. My, how life has changed from 5 years ago. I wouldn’t trade it, though.

Recently, I’ve had time to think and reflect during some “me time” that Adam graciously gave me. So much happened in 2012; mostly good, some not-so-good. We finished out the year with a lot to be thankful for, along with some unknown still hanging in the air, resulting in a bit of anxiousness.

While all these things are going through my mind, I didn’t want to have it negatively affect me. What’s going to happen will happen, it is ultimately out of my control. When my abnormal EKG came back a couple weeks ago, it really shook me up. I started to realize that life is really short and I need to soak up as much time with my precious girls and husband as I can.

So, this year I decided not to make a new years resolutions that I had a 50/50 chance of keeping, but instead to come up with a word that I would try to remember throughout the year. I wanted it to be something that would help me be a better person. The word I came up with is purposeful.

When I’m with my girls and husband, I want to be purposeful or intentional on the undivided attention I give to them. Now that I have two girls, I feel it’s hard to give both of them the time they deserve. My time is not theirs if I am on my iPhone or computer, reading articles, browsing Pinterest, or responding to Facebook comments or messages. I can’t be the wife I should be if my husband is trying to tell me about his day while I’m checking my email or concentrating on something else.

In fully being present with them, I can truly be there. Both physically and mentally.

The same goes for everything I do. I want to be purposeful in my workouts. Purposeful in friends, worshipping God, and yes, even in grocery shopping. I know I have a long way to go, but I truly believe I can be a better person by doing this.

What would your “word” be for this year?

Leave a Reply

